Help for Flood Victims

Harvard to Hardhat was mentioned recently in the Cranston Herald, Johnston Herald, North East Independent, South County Independent and Warwick Beacon. The article follows…

Last week’s rains are just the beginning for Rhode Island’s flood victims. Having been there before – flooding destroyed my home in 2006 – I urge residents with dry homes to show compassion to those who weren’t so lucky.

As emergency service crews retreat, media coverage fades and life moves on for most, thousands will remain displaced. Negotiating insurance claims, addressing environmental hazards and rebuilding can take years. I juggled these duties and my full-time job for a year-and-a-half, accompanied by two trash bags of belongings and some much-needed perseverance. As difficult as it was to migrate from one location to the next, I was fortunate to have a roof over my head.

I started a Web site (www.harvardtohardhat.com) to share the challenges I faced in having to rebuild my home and provide advice for homeowners to help put their lives back together. Perhaps it can offer a little help to Rhode Islanders who now find themselves in the same boat.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

