Preventing Household Accidents

If you have you ever left your home with the dishwasher or washing machine running, you might want to think twice before doing it next time. According to the Insurance Information Institute, billions of dollars in insurance claims are filed each year due to household water damage. Water hoses break; appliances malfunction. It happens all the time. I never used to shut my water supply off during extended travel, but I sure do now. And I also discovered the “water sensor.” For a couple hundred dollars, I’ve had water sensors installed on the floors of my bathroom and kitchen. If water should trip one of the sensors, it will activate my security system with a call into the central office. It’s not perfect, but after what I’ve been through, the peace of mind is worth every penny.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

